Doctor Who: The Whovian Review

Sinopsis

Come listen to a group of Doctor Who fans that range from recent enthusiast to long time followers . We brake down and analyze the most recent episodes trying to figure what could be happening in the future as well as explain the references to the past. Join us in the fun that is Doctor Who.

Episodios

  • The Whovian Review #177- Gridlock

    The Whovian Review #177- Gridlock

    17/09/2020 Duración: 49min

    When Martha is kidnapped and dragged off to a very slow highway, the Doctor is subject to the smog and deadly gasses of the super highway to nowhere in order to rescue her. However, Novice Hame may have other plans for the Doctor. Will Kelsey enjoy driving 2 feet per day? Will Colin find his emotions amongst the crab like Macra. Check out our in depth conversation that goes on almost as long as this Gridlock.

  • The Whovian Review #176- The Shakespeare Code

    The Whovian Review #176- The Shakespeare Code

    11/09/2020 Duración: 27min

    A Rose by any other name would smell as sweet...unless that name is "Martha", apparently. William Shakespeare says the words, witches cast the scientific spells, Martha pines after the Doctor, The Doctor tries out one heart, and we all attempt to figure out the science behind this episode. Is "to be or not to be" pretentious, that is the question. Expelliarmus!

  • The Whovian Review #175- Smith and Jones

    The Whovian Review #175- Smith and Jones

    03/09/2020 Duración: 29min

    The Judoon are in a platoon on the moon at noon? This episode has Plasmavores, space Rhinos, radiated shoes, kisses meant to be genetic transfers, and time traveling cheap tricks. Will Kelsey enjoy the Doctor? Will Jase like Martha, and will Colin like the Rhinos? Find out on the latest podcast of The Whovian Review.

  • The Whovian Review #174- Doomsday

    The Whovian Review #174- Doomsday

    20/08/2020 Duración: 26min

    It's doomsday and the daleks have invaded the cybermen's invasion of Earth. Pete invades both parties at war with each other. Two parallel worlds combine when dimension-jumping stolen Time Lord tech and the Cult of Skaro collide in the Torchwood Tower. Shelby, Colin, Michael and Kelsey all get to weigh in on their favorite moments and ratings for this epic finale. The moral of the story is when traveling through dimensions, always remember to close the door.

  • The Whovian Review #173- Army of Ghosts

    The Whovian Review #173- Army of Ghosts

    13/08/2020 Duración: 32min

    Boo! It's cybermen! Boo! It's daleks! Boo! It's a two-parter. It would be great to meet a bloke called Alonso so we could let him know our ratings for this epic first part to the series 2 finale. Jackie believes her father is back from the dead, Freema makes her debut in the show, Mickey goes baller, and Yvonne Hartman works hard to applaud the Doctor and his 57 year old, Rose! The cybermen seem to throw a wrench in the works and start to take over the world. Just as the mysterious void ship spits out a group of daleks.

  • The Whovian Review #172- Love amp Monsters

    The Whovian Review #172- Love & Monsters

    30/07/2020 Duración: 27min

    We find love of our Elton (not THE Elton), but not of our monsters. A poor man's Gordon Ramsey (according to Kelsey) hooks up with Moaning Myrtle, and then loses her to an Absorbaloff. Well, most of her. Jackie gets hurt, Rose gets angry, and Bliss gets the rear end of the stick. See how this story fares with our quartet in this episode.

  • The Whovian Review #171- Satan Pit

    The Whovian Review #171- Satan Pit

    17/07/2020 Duración: 34min

    Satan: Bad. Doctor: Good? The Doctor decides not to jump into the pit of despair and wants to run away from the mystery of the Beast. Do you have any faith? Is Satan real? Does Captain Zachary make the right decisions? And who really is responsible for his escape from the killer Ood? We discuss our take on the second part of this epic Impossible Planet finale.

  • The Whovian Review #170- The Impossible Planet

    The Whovian Review #170- The Impossible Planet

    08/07/2020 Duración: 28min

    The future is dark, bleak, and on the edge of a black hole. The Doctor and Rose land on a space station that should be engulfed in a massive star eater but is impossibly in orbit around it. Mysteries abound with a crew of humans trying to find the source of power holding the planet, and the Doctor loses his TARDIS! Will Colin be possessed by the beast?

  • The Whovian Review #169- The Idiots Lantern

    The Whovian Review #169- The Idiot's Lantern

    02/07/2020 Duración: 44min

    Feed me, Seymour! Gran was right: television is sucking the brains out of you! Now there is no power on this Earth (not parallel Earth?) that will stop the Doctor from finding Rose's face and a Betamax tape. Join Shelby, Michael, Colin and Jase as we discuss this voracious episode.

  • The Whovian Review #168- Age of Steel

    The Whovian Review #168- Age of Steel

    25/06/2020 Duración: 30min

    Y'all want some upgrades? The Cybermen have risen. Now is the Age of Steel. Is Rose unknowingly seducing her non-father? Did emotions blow the cybermen's minds? Was the second part worth its weight? We discuss all these, and the overwhelming takeaway: Mikey to Ricky. Zero to Hero. An arc is completed and a parallel universe is closed forever (Maybe).

  • The Whovian Review #167- Rise of the Cybermen

    The Whovian Review #167- Rise of the Cybermen

    17/06/2020 Duración: 30min

    Life is hard when you learn you're a dog. Life is hard when you learn you're a robot. Life is hard when the first letter of your name changes. We jump into a parallel universe with a president of Great Britain, Pete Tyler alive, and Kelsey wondering if the TARDIS is a future high-tech cyberman. We check out the parallels between this world and the original world we've grown to love. Get your blimp on! We give our opinion on whether or not this new Earth works out for our companions.

  • The Whovian Review #166- The Girl in the Fireplace

    The Whovian Review #166- The Girl in the Fireplace

    04/06/2020 Duración: 25min

    There's a lot of "pomp" and circumstance in this one. A spaceship from the 51st century stalks a king's mistress from the 18th century, but it blends in by disguising itself as the terrifying clowns of nightmares! This episode runs like clockwork, a cohesive story with great acting and surprisingly limited plot holes. But how was the music? We will let the listeners decide.

  • The Whovian Review #165- Fear Her

    The Whovian Review #165- Fear Her

    21/05/2020 Duración: 31min

    Out with the Kelsey and in with the Jase. Back in time to 2012, aka Rose's future. The Isolus takes over young Chloe and starts kid- and cat-knapping everyone around her. Rose is competent, but is our podcast? Let the listeners decide! (Kelsey will be back next week!)

  • The Whovian Review #164- School Reunion

    The Whovian Review #164- School Reunion

    13/05/2020 Duración: 28min

    Out with the werewolves, in with the vampires. The Doctor, Rose, Mickey, Sarah Jane and K-9 all go back to school. Kenny saves the day and successfully blows up the school in a mysterious manner. This episode leaves Kelsey jonesing for oil and souring on the Doctor's benevolence.

  • The Whovian Review #163- Tooth and Claw

    The Whovian Review #163- Tooth and Claw

    30/04/2020 Duración: 32min

    1979, I mean 1879... The doctor once again fails to get out of the UK as he travels back to 19th century Scotland for a rendezvous with Queen Victoria. This fun romp features a classic werewolf encounter with limited sci-fi explanation. Shelby is not amused.

  • The Whovian Review #162- The Doctors Wife

    The Whovian Review #162- The Doctor's Wife

    23/04/2020 Duración: 31min

    If you replace every part of an umbrella over time, is it still the same umbrella? Are Auntie and Uncle still the same people who were stranded on House, the sentient asteroid? Will Kelsey ever get over her hatred of Amy enough to pay attention to the rest of the episode? Our podcast team is back (virtually) in this time of peril to bring you our review of the episode that takes us into the very soul of the TARDIS herself!

  • The Whovian Review #161- The Timeless Children

    The Whovian Review #161- The Timeless Children

    05/03/2020 Duración: 52min

    Well, where to start? Bescot dies while trying to give the others a chance to escape the Cybermen onslaught. Graham and Yaz decide to try on Cyber suits for a new fashion statement that will help them escape, while the Doctor is dragged into the Matrix, and no, not that one. The Master gets crazier while Kelsey's eye rolls become more prominent. Graham says some beautiful words to Yaz while Shelby's heart melts. Colin enjoys some much needed plot holes, and Michael can't explain some of the time-y wimeyness of this episode. Enjoy.

  • The Whovian Review #160- Ascension of the Cybermen

    The Whovian Review #160- Ascension of the Cybermen

    29/02/2020 Duración: 39min

    Yaz and Graham step up their game on a rackety old spaceship that is breaking down in the middle of a Cyberman war zone. The Doctor, Ryan, and Ethan run straight into the Master while fleeing the Cybermen in a Cybership. And Brendan grows up in a seemingly Irish countryside as a police officer and cannot die after falling off a cliff?! The relationship between these two stories has not been reveled, however, we give it our best in determining the outcome of these mysteries! And yet the name Earthshock springs to mind!

  • The Whovian Review #159- The Haunting of Villa Diodati

    The Whovian Review #159- The Haunting of Villa Diodati

    20/02/2020 Duración: 34min

    Lets join The Doctor, Yaz, Graham, Ryan, Claire, Lord Byron, Mary, John, Percy, and the Butler in a house where nobody can actually get anywhere due to an overactive perception filter that traps our three groups of people throughout the house. Well all except John who walks through walls thanks to his sleep walking skills. Enter a lone Cyberman with a baby, and then things get really weird. And just who is the Guardian?

  • The Whovian Review #158- Can you hear me?

    The Whovian Review #158- Can you hear me?

    13/02/2020 Duración: 35min

    Come get sonic screwdrivered in an episode where Freddy, er Zellin, forgets his glove of knives, and uses his dismembered fingers to grab the nightmares from us humans and transmit them to his long lost fellow nightmare grabbing demigod, or immortal who is trapped across the universe between two planets. Somehow Graham dreams about the prisoner Rakaya, while Yaz is in a nightmare where she is stranded in the middle of a street for all eternity. In the end Freddy gets fingered.

página 1 de 9

Informações: